top of page
Massage

 

 

Tuition Options and Fees

 

Registration fee $500

Tuition $6300

Total cost $6800

Students who pay in full on or before the first day of class will receive a tuition discount of 25%If you have hours approved for transfer to Fort Smith Academy of Massage, $12.60 per hour will be subtracted from the balance.

Registration fee $500

Tuition $6300 - 25% = $4725 (save $1575)

Total cost $5225 

Interest-Free Payment Plan: 

Fast Track: $500 at Registration followed by three monthly payments of $2100

Day Class: $500 at Registration followed by five monthly payments of $1260

Night Class: $500 at Registration followed by 10 monthly payments of $630

 

If you have hours approved for transfer to Fort Smith Academy of Massage, $12.60 per hour will be subtracted from the balance, and the monthly payment will be adjusted accordingly. In addition, students who receive tuition assistance or pay partial tuition may participate in the interest-free payment plan, and the monthly payments will be adjusted accordingly. Please note, transcripts and diplomas will be awarded when tuition is paid in full. This means a student will not be able to apply for a massage license through the state until the tuition has been paid in full.

Registration fee $500

Tuition $6300

Total cost $6800

Tuition-Free Internship Program:  Fort Smith Academy of Massage now offers a Tuition-Free Internship Program, providing an opportunity for students to gain real-world experience, build confidence, and elevate expertise in preparation for a successful career in massage therapy. Students who receive tuition assistance through Arkansas Rehabilitation Services, pay partial tuition, or transfer college hours to Fort Smith Academy of Massage may participate in the internship program on a percentage basis to cover out-of-pocket tuition costs. Tuition fees are 100% waived for students who complete the internship. Click here to learn more.

We are now an approved provider through Arkansas Rehabilitation Services: For those who qualify, this support will cover a significant portion of tuition costs. If you are interested in exploring this opportunity, we encourage you to reach out to their office at (479) 755-3300 or contact our office at Fort Smith Academy of Massage at (479) 763-5469. We will provide you with the paperwork to get started and get you in contact with a counselor who will guide you through the application process.

Included in Tuition

  • Supplies needed for massage school including massage lotion, lotion pump, sheets, massage tables, etc.

  • Two Fort Smith Academy of Massage t-shirts

  • All required textbooks

    • Massage Therapy: Principles and Practice, 6th Ed. by Susan Salvo

    • Trail Guide to the Body, 6th Ed. by Andrew Biel

    • Trail Guide to the Body Student Workbook, 6th Ed. by Andrew Biel

    • The MBLEx Study Guide published by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards

  • Student liability Insurance

  • CPR certification if not already certified

Expenses Not Included in Tuition

  • Cost of obtaining a note from a medical physician stating the student is healthy enough to give and receive massage. This is required by the Arkansas Department of Health as stated in the Massage Therapy Act § 17-86-306 (d) (1) and can be turned in at registration or on the first day of class. This is required by law and must be in the student's file at Fort Smith Academy of Massage before starting class.

  • Notebooks, highlighters, pens/pencils, etc.

  • It is helpful, but not required, to have a laptop, tablet, or smartphone to access online learning resources such as chapter games and quizzes.

  • Cost of attire required to meet the dress code (other than the Fort Smith Academy of Massage t-shirt): pants appropriate for massage such as yoga/athletic pants, scrub pants, jeans, or shorts that are not excessively short. Shoes should be clean and comfortable. When working in the Student Clinic, shoes should completely cover the foot, such as athletic or nursing shoes.

  • MBLEx Testing Fee of $265 paid to the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards.

  • Fee of $216.25 paid to the Arkansas Department of Health - Massage Therapy Section to obtain a background check and massage therapy license.​​

Enrollment

School Tour

 

To begin the enrollment process, contact Fort Smith Academy of Massage to schedule an appointment. At this meeting, you will tour the school and student clinic, and we will answer any questions you may have. You may register for classes at this meeting, or you may schedule registration for a later date.

 

Registration

 

During registration, all necessary forms will be completed, along with a review of our policies and procedures. The registration fee is due at this time. Please bring the following:

 

  • A government issued photo ID, e.g., drivers license

  • Social security card or any document with your full social security number listed such as a tax document, birth certificate, etc. This is only required if participating in the interest-free payment plan.

  • Registration fee of $500 payable by cash, check, money order, or any major credit card.

  • Official transcript if you have college credit or credit hours from another massage school that are transferable to Fort Smith Academy of Massage.

  • A note from a physician documenting that the student poses no health risk to give and receive massage. This is required by the Arkansas Department of Health as stated in the Massage Therapy Act § 17-86-306 (d) (1) and can be turned in at registration or on the first day of class. This is required by law and must be in the student's file at Fort Smith Academy of Massage before starting class.

Age Requirements

Students must be at least 17 years of age on or before their first day of class at Fort Smith Academy of Massage and can apply for their Arkansas massage therapy license once they turn 18. In addition, a high-school diploma or recognized equivalent is not required to attend Fort Smith Academy of Massage but will be required to apply for an Arkansas massage therapy license. For example, a student may choose to begin massage therapy classes at Fort Smith Academy of Massage as a junior or senior in high school as long as they have reached 17 years of age, but will not be able to apply for their massage therapy license until they have turned 18 and have obtained a high school diploma or its equivalent. 


Transferring Credit

Students may transfer credit from a college, university, or licensed massage school to Fort Smith Academy of Massage.

 

  • Courses will be considered transferable if they are relevant to massage therapy and must coincide with the curriculum outlined in Ark. Code Ann. § 17-86- 306(e):

    • 175 hours of anatomy, physiology, pathology, and contraindications to massage

    • 225 hours of technique

    • 25 hours of hydrotherapy, electrotherapy, and heliotherapy

    • 25 hours of hygiene and infection control 

    • 25 hours of massage therapy law, business, and professional ethics 

    • 25 hours of related subjects as approved by the department

  • A grade of C or above is required for courses to be eligible for transfer.

  • An official transcript is required and must be kept on file.

  • Each semester credit hour equals 13.33 clock-hours (13 hours and 20 minutes). For example, if you have one three-hour A&P class, you can transfer 40 hours of A&P to Fort Smith Academy of Massage.

  • For each approved transfer hour, $12.60 will be subtracted from the tuition amount.

  • Independent of the number of hours available for transfer, students will be required to attend a minimum of 187.5 hours at Fort Smith Academy of Massage which include the following classes:

    • 6.25 hours - Hygiene and Infection Control held in Section 1 or Section 3

    • 6.25 hours - Massage Therapy Law, Business Management, and Professional Ethics held in Section 1 or Section 3

    • 25 hours - MBLEx prep

    • 150 hours  - Technique 

  • Students with transfer hours must pass all required exams at Fort Smith Academy of Massage. If unable to pass all of the exams, the student may be required to attend the classes before graduating and will be charged tuition for those hours.

Age Requirements
Transferring Credit
Expenses Not Included in Tuition
bottom of page